I’m back!

3 Jan

Damn Thai elf must have had his greasy fingers on my camera lens…

That’s my fam up there! Mom and dad up front and my sister and her fiancé. And mine too. My…don’t make me say it please. As a serious Seinfeld fan, I have trouble saying the word “fiancé”. This woman on it just kept running around saying, “my FIANCEEEEEEE, MY FIANCEEEEE….OH DEAR I HAVE LOST MY FIANCCCCE! THE POOR BABY!” Then Elaine, who is essentially me, gets annoyed to the point where she yells, “MAYBE THE DINGO ATE YOUR BABY.” Does it make sense? No. Am I traumatized from the word now? Yes.

We had a lovely Christmas Eve dinner at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Bangkok. Last year, the queen came. The freaking queen! And this year, too. Do I ever get to see her? No. Does my mom wait around hours to catch a glimpse? Yes. Have I been asking and answering my own questions a lot already in this blog post? Yes. Should I stop? You bet.

A few things in this photo I would like to talk about. 1, John’s tan. It’s hilarious. And 2, santa is totally flipping off the camera. Also, santa’s helper seems deathly afraid of John deep down.

Anyhow, I’m home! Home, and going a little crazy. The perfection of the entire vacation — the Maldives, then to see my family, is really making it hard for me to come to terms with the fact that the holidays are over. And the PAIN of the jet lag…I can’t even explain. For me, it’s not just sleeping at random times…it is physically painful. I feel at my best around 4am and run around the house, trying to accomplish anything I possibly can in the dark, then, during normal, human hours, I am worthless.

My resolutions? I’ve never been the type to make any, but I have a few ideas this year….mainly, I’d like to have more energy and not fall into “funks”, so I guess that means a littttttle less drinking ( 😦 !!!!!!!!!!!! ) which should help all around (motivating for the gym has to be much easier when you aren’t vomiting, right?)  and I’d like to keep in touch with people better. More quality time. Annnnd I’d like to start taking advantage of things — the places I get to go — I want to really see them and explore. The people I meet — I want to work with them. The opportunities I am presented with — I don’t want to close my mind to them automatically.

I want to learn this year. Maybe in 2012, I won’t have a cooking show, or I won’t be Padma, but I’d like to at least learn on the way…

And I suppose there is the modeling thing too. I get to represent an amazing brand (can’t say yet, dammit) all year, one that a truly use and actually love — no, not Ciroc, although yes we know I love that too. Then Sports Illustrated comes out mid February, just a couple days after the Grammys, so that should be a fun, busy period like it always is. After that, maybe I go to culinary school in new york…oh man. Can you just tell I’m thinking out loud here? I’ll stop.

How was your break!? Did you get one? I hope you did. What did you doooo, where did you go, what did you eat, what are your resolutions? Help me pass the time as I lay in bed, wide awake at night! I’m interested…you guys hear about me enough on here.

Happy to be home : )

xx

80 Responses to “I’m back!”

  1. Brandi January 3, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    Chrissy, I left a comment on your very first post introducing myself. Do you have any interest in writing a cookbook? Quite enjoy the blog, thanks for all you share. All best, Brandi

  2. Katherina January 3, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    So happy for you two! Seems like life is really working out for you :). My resolution is to take advantage of every situation. Well not really… that could go in a bad direction VERY quickly, but you know what I mean. So excited to see who you’ll be modelling for. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  3. Brittany January 3, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    Congratulations on your engagement! Over the holidays I made your scalloped potatoes recipe for my dad, I can not even begin to tell you how happy he was. My dad is the type to just love anything I make for him simply because I made it and I’m his daughter. Your scalloped potatoes reminded him of the ones my grandmother made him when he was a kid. He’s been missing his homecooked meals since my grams is so old now, so it was perfect. Thank you again for the recipe

  4. manie January 3, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    John’s tan IS hilarious, how did he get so red?

    Congratulations on your engagement! After having followed you on twitter for a while and john for a little less while, hopefully you will bring the funny to his twitter too (?) though I don’t know if we, your fans, can handle double dose.

  5. Jessica (@JessMatushek) January 3, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    Lovely family! I noticed Santa’s helper looked a little frightened haha. Let’s see my resolutions are to cook more, read more, and work on taking my photography business to the next level so I can quit my day job. I also want to make an effort to listen to others more and ask more questions. I find myself worrying about how I’m coming off to people and forget to ask them how they are, an insecurity that might come off as being aloof. Best of luck to you in the new year!

    • chrissyteigen January 3, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

      i like this resolution! i think i do the same thing, don’t worry 🙂

  6. thedancingrunner January 3, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Woot woot! Congrats on your engagement! How exciting!!

    Glad you had a great holiday. I had a nice long break myself…staycation but still a nice one!

  7. Shoe Closzet January 3, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Happy New Year! I love your blog because of your writing style. I can’t wait to read your posts in 2012 🙂

  8. Holley January 3, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    Ate boursin stuffed chicken wrapped in prosciutto like ten times! It’s an addiction now.

  9. Tiffany January 3, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Welcome back!!! I planned my engagement party and slept. I woke up then drank and slept. It was awesome 😉

  10. Sareeta January 3, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Hi Chrissy,

    I love your blog, even when it’s nothing to do with food. I only became aware of you via some Questlove retweets or something on Twitter, and found you to be hilarious and interesting, and the recipes you post, while i haven’t made any yet, are entertainingly written and look frickin delicious. I would gladly read a recipe book (and I’m a children’s book editor so that’s… irrelevant) or watch a TV show fronted by your good self (if it aired in the UK).

    So as you asked, had a great break, went to help my grandmother see in her 90th year in Toronto, and was inspired by her pushing back the walker and getting down on the dance floor. Not quite the Maldives, but i did get a Business Class upgrade on my flight home. Small pleasures. then back to London and the Xmas and New Year were great too. Duck not turkey is the way forward.

    Anyway, I should be working. My NY resolution is to save more, as one of my colleagues was literally just made redundant. Fun times. Good luck with the jetlag…

    Sareeta

  11. Stephanie January 3, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    I too struggle with using the word ‘fiance’ — I cope by playing a game with myself where I substitute ‘Beyonce’ in wherever I can and see if people notice. Enjoy!

  12. Amy (Minimally Invasive) January 3, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Congratulations on your engagement. Wishing you and your FIANCEEEEEEE all the best!

    I ate everything and went back for seconds, but I’m Cajun and everyone in my family is a great cook. So that’s an excuse. I guess. I don’t typically make resolutions, but I chose a theme word for the year — action. Mainly, I plan to take action to get my food photography career to someplace where it can mostly support me.

  13. Ally January 3, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Congrats on the engagement. I can’t WAIT to hear all about your reception food and wedding cake planning. I mean, who really cares about the dress, right?

    I drank too much, slept a lot, and then drank some more. Ho ho ho.

  14. Candace January 3, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Congrats to you and John! I have enjoyed reading about your journey and cannot wait to see wedding pics and those precious babies that are to come! Wishing you both nothing but the best this year. It’s kind of weird how I don’t know you but simply adore you.

  15. Sarshboogie (@Sarshboogie) January 3, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Your mom is beautiful! I am so happy for you and John, because you two are my pretend best friends. Congtats!

  16. On life and stuff January 3, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    If you’d like to read my blog to see my “resolutions”, feel free… onlifeandstuff.wordpress.com it is. I’m not a resolution maker either. I love your blog, and you have a beautiful family… I know how many people say this in all situations, but you DO have a beautiful family. Happy and prosperous 2012!!

  17. Sarshboogie (@Sarshboogie) January 3, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    Your mom is beautiful! I am so happy for you and John, because you two are my pretend best friends. Congtats! 🙂

  18. middlefennell January 3, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    I’ve started a new job in a new country and at 30 am finally feeling pretty damned confident in myself so I hope to make the most of every opportunity! And your blog makes me want to learn to cook. And eat.

  19. P January 3, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    Chrissy!

    Congrats on the engagement! That is very exciting! Today is my first day back at work in a while and it is dragging 😦 I am buying a crock pot today and am super excited! Do you have some good recipes to make in it? Possibly ones to make for football Sundays?

    • chrissyteigen January 3, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      will totally do a wintertime crockpot post for you soon! love my crockpot and miss using it!

  20. Guy Martial January 3, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    I’m a fan of your blog. Happy for you two. I tried the stuffed chicken with the bacon the other day on my break and it was delicious and wonderful. My break was good. It was 5 days. We don’t get much time off as hospital residents. Welcome back.

  21. xoxome11 January 3, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    Chrissy, I’m not old enough to be your mother, but maybe your cool aunt. I have one HUGE piece of advice that I give all of my younger friends/colleagues. DO WHAT YOU LOVE! And I swear I don’t mean that to sound cliche — I’ve LIVED this. All through my 20s and early 30s, I did what I could do to make a living enough to support myself and my family. Through a random chain of events, I’m now entering my 40s and get to do something I really love and enjoy, and there is NO comparison. I take pride in my job, in loving my job, and I really think that as a result, I’ve actually been pretty successful too. So your modeling may be getting you a paycheck for now. But PLEASE have your goals include things like your blogging/writing (you are HUGELY entertaining to read) and your cooking. i just don’t see how you couldn’t be a success at anything involving either of these things. My husband and I have included several of your recipes in our regular repertoire (Chipotle marinade being the STAR) and when i tell everyone a SI swimsuit model has a great cooking blog where I got the recipe, no one believes me and I have to go to the computer and show them your recipes and convince them to follow you on Twitter! Best wishes for a Happy New Year – keep the recipes (and humor) coming!

    • chrissyteigen January 3, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

      this was so sweet and awesome to hear, really. i am glad to have people like you here and I’m so happy to hear you’re now doing something you love!! I’ll get there soon!

  22. April Larabee January 3, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    Congrats to you and your soon to be husband. I was able to take a couple of days off work and since my husband and I got DirectTV for a Christmas gift, I watched a lot of TV. Mostly cooking shows because I’m addicted, but also gory stuff like Trauma in the ER and Dr. G. Cool stuff. I also made chicken a la king from scratch for the first time and not only did it turn out nicely, my husband loved it. That is a personal triumph so my resolution is to cook from scratch as often as I can this year. Blog away Chrissy!

  23. Casey January 3, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    Hahaha I felt the exact same way when I got engaged! I am still calling him my “boyfriend” in public…awkward. And we made yardbird chicken last night! YUM!

  24. Emily @ Mouth of the Border January 3, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    Congrats on your engagement & welcome home! Don’t pretend like you’re not buried under wedding mags while recovering from jetlag 😉

    My goals for this year are to build my business (my supper club, Midnight Brunch, and event consulting), live a creative life (write more/learn more) and do some global travel starting with Italy in March. Not resolutions, just the newest set of goals I have.

  25. HateTheDrake January 3, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    Your dad’s a trailblazer! I thought the white guy/asian woman thing only recently became “trendy”:

    http://stuffwhitepeoplelike.com/2008/01/20/11-asian-girls/

    Congrats to you and John! Now get bloggin’…

  26. Jen January 3, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    I have to thank you for inspiring me to take some cooking classes. I start in 2 weeks at EATZ in LA. Its a 6 week condensed culinary class that I’m hoping will somehow make me a BOSS in the kitchen. I wanna be the kind of girl that when my man says he’s hungry, Ill just throw on that apron, and whip up, oh, you know, individually-sized beef wellington and be like, “No big deal. Here ya go babe!” Wait. I just realized i said the B word: Beef *gasps for air. Dont you have fans on here that freak out when we talk about meat? Well, dear all those people: SUCK IT. Sincerely, Meat lover Jen

  27. Anna Posner January 3, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

    LOVE your blog – my husband and i were actually at anantara kihavah while you and john were there, but we’re new yorkers and refuse to bother celebrities, especially when they’re on vacation. making your chicken/bacon/prosciutto tonight. congrats on your engagement!

  28. Leigh-Leigh January 3, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

    Yay! First the tandem engagements, now the shared Seinfeldian aversion to the haughty appellation “fiancé”. Unfortunately, alternatives like “betrothed” and “intended” sound even more cheese-dickensian – though your elusive dining-mate the Queen would no doubt approve. 🙂 Happy 2012, my love!

  29. Davia Nichole Anderson January 3, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    Congrats! Sounds like a holiday to remember. I wish I had something exciting to tell you but the truth is I was on a complete bender of drinking and hanging out with friends daily and indulging in smut tv. Do you know there is a 6 hour block of Jerry Springer, Maury Povich and Cheaters? Oh you’re damn right I got my fill of it. I did take a 3 hour hiatus from binge drinking to get some culture at the High Museum of Art’s Picasso to Warhol exhibit. Okay I lie. They totally had wine at the museum. I got an invite to go to a concert this weekend and before I could even respond, my liver nudged me and said don’t even think about it. All in all it was a great holiday with lots of friends and family. It’s nice to be back at the office though and return to some sense of normalcy. Speaking of, I hope you’re not jet lagged for too long. Happy New Year!

  30. David January 3, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    had a great break. family came to my house and i totally ate tooooo much. got a week off from work and i was dying to go back. welcome back and congrats on your engagement!

    and your mom is gorgeous. 🙂

  31. Andy January 3, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    hmm. over the break i realized how bad a cook i really am, and went to flight school instead! so no break really. but will keep an eye in for some easy recipes for when im a bachelor, or otherwise, really.

  32. Bob Chain January 3, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    congrats on the engagement. All the women in your family are gorgeous-maybe you start your own calendar.I had a nicer break than I thought- I lost my Wife in April 2011 after a too long illness but my new granddaughter (7 month my first) and daughter kept me busy and I know my wife is not suffering any longer.

    Love your posts and Your attitude as well as your recipes.

    Bob Chain Torrington Ct.

    • chrissyteigen January 3, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

      I’m so sorry to hear about your wife — I can’t even imagine. I’m sure that little girl is one amazing little handful! I’m sure you’re exhausted!

  33. Melissa January 3, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    Congrats on the engagement!! My holiday was terribly boring which made it wonderful. One of my New Year’s resolutions this year is to cook up a recipe I find in one of my cookbooks at least once a week. And maybe blog it on my blog madcrazylife.com. Off course, though, I never follow the recipe to a T so it’s more “oh that looks good” and then cook it how the dang well I please. 😉 Today I’m making a pulled pork in the crock pot and cole slaw to top it off. You’d think you could easily find a cole slaw recipe that doesn’t call for creaming the heck out of the cabbage with mayo or *gasp* Miracle Whip, but nosomuch. Experiment time! Tips appreciated! Love your blog by the way!

    • chrissyteigen January 3, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

      hmmm I love coleslaw so I’ll keep an eye out!

      • Melissa January 3, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

        I ended up creating my own recipe tonight for coleslaw – turned out INCREDIBLE! I’ll let you know once I get it written down if you want to try it. Worked out really well with the pulled pork, btw. It may work well with the chipotle chicken too..

  34. LizScott January 3, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    I hosted Christmas, and said to myself many, many times: “Chrissy was smart enough to rent a damn second refrigerator–why wasn’t I??”

    Anyway. It was all Pioneer Woman, All the Time, and it worked out quite nicely, so that’s a win for some damn good mashed potatoes.

    Congrats on your upcoming wedding! I had exactly two “must haves” in planning mine:
    1. Ceremony must be 20 minutes, door to door; no one sings
    2. Margarita cocktail hour BEFORE the ceremony so everyone can at least have a damn drink in their hand while we say our vows.

  35. Rosemary M. January 3, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    Chrissy! Congratulations again! Can you pretty please blog about how John proposed? I’m sure it was magical but would you share with your readers? We do love you lots!!!

    Crossing my fingers 🙂

  36. ryan nicole January 3, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    Congrats on the engagement !!!! This holiday was by far the best in years. Made some good food, by far the best were the Cinnamon Toast Crunch cupcakes!!! Hope to see some yummy recipes on here soon. 🙂

    • chrissyteigen January 3, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

      thatttt sounds awesome! will look up a recipe…

      • HeatherRyann January 3, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

        Next time your in Vegas Retro Bakery makes the best cupcakes in town and they have…..Cinnamon Toast Crunch ones! Sometimes they rotate flavors but will make them for you when you ask. Send your Sis to get some now! 🙂 Happy New Year!

        http://www.retrobakerylv.com

  37. Fran January 3, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Instead of saying fiance, you could also call him your ‘intended.’ I remember reading it in a book in high school and it made me want to gag – it would at least provide you with some amusement as it would probably people feel awkward.

    I spent the holidays working as a holiday slave for a certain airline. Please know I would have given you pringles if you wanted them. All I’m saying.

    This year I want to become a morning person. It’s an entirely foreign concept but I think it would be really great.

    I’d love to be more creative in the kitchen and in decorating. I feel like I read about so many ideas and it’s time to actually do them!

    Home cured bacon was my favorite post of yours. Hilarious.

    And, the ham cups!

    And, the party foods. Because if I go to one more that only has chili dip and a cheeseball I might kill myself. Thanks for the variety.

    Happy New Year, gir.

    • chrissyteigen January 3, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

      lol! happy new year! home cured bacon still makes me angry. maybe i should try again….have new knives..

  38. Lauren January 3, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    Chrissy – I’ll say it again for what I’m sure it the zillionth time you’re heard it but, CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU AND JOHN! Being engaged is a super fun time – enjoy! And thank goodness you’re back from your travels to entertain us all with obsessive tweets and blog posts. I’ve missed you! Two items: 1. My family had a vodka tasting at home over Christmas because…we like to drink? Anyway, one was Ciroc chosen exclusively by me due exclulsively to your connection with the brand. When I excitedly told my mother (who also reads here), “I PICKED THIS ONE BECAUSE CHRISSY OUR PRETEND FRIEND FROM SODELUSHIOUS IS IN THE AD” she equally as excitedly squealed over it too. So yeah, me and my mom love you. And vodka. But mostly you in COMBINATION with vodka. 2. I finally made the chipotle marinade!!! I know, seriously behind the 8 ball on this one. But I live in a…really…white town? And half our groceries don’t have international sections. Harris Teeter to the rescue! Anyway, husband loved it. I loved it. Froze a ton. Will be using weekly. So seriously, congrats again. I got married last May and its a fun and special time so just take the time to kick back and love it. Don’t listen to any wedding advice that doesn’t begin with the words “It is you and your dude’s wedding and you should absolutely do what makes you happy.”

    • chrissyteigen January 3, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

      lol! thanks for this, made me very happy 🙂

  39. amandakatarina January 3, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    I get your agitation to the word “fiance”, and yes I love that Seinfeld episode…and thanks to you I’m going to be saying “MAYBE THE DINGO ATE YOUR BABY” all. day. long. It’s funny though, I find myself feeling incredibly lame even using the word “boyfriend”, I’m in a six-year relationship and whenever I find myself dropping the B-bomb, I cringe waiting for the second grade “oooooo”. I can’t imagine dealing with the F-bomb. I liked the other reader’s suggestion of inserting the word “beyonce” instead.
    Congratulations on your engagement!!!!! I too would love it if you wrote a cookbook! But it sounds like you already have a lot on your plate. (lame food joke intended)

  40. Elise January 3, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    Totally understand your qualms with the word finace I just got engaged in november and still cant bring myself to say it. My special friend who I am going to marry already thinks Im crazy for being so obssessed with you. When I saw on twitter I ran into the the other room and shouted CHRISSY TEIGEN GOT ENGAGED! I love all the food posts and I hope to see some wedding reated stuff in the future for all us other brides to be! congrats!!

  41. Elissa January 3, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    Congratulations to you two! I hate the word fiance too so I referred to him as my boyfriend and now he’s my husband. (By the way-we had cocktail hour before the ceremony too and it rocks)
    Because everyone raves about your recipes I was wondering if you have any tips for someone like me who just can’t seem to make a decent meal? From what I’ve read you are not formally trained so any “beginner’s” tips on making tasty things easily would be appreciated. *Note-I have been cooking for years and am still terrible at it. I try recipes and most come out just meh, I yearn for delicious food. The only book/chef I’ve been successful with is Giada DiLaurentis’ “Everday Italian” because each of her recipes includes 6 ingredients tops.

  42. lcv January 3, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    I recently started a new (first…) job, and since I now sit at my desk all day, my resolution is to do some form of exercise at least 4 times a week (ambitious, maybe, but also necessary), and to only eat out 3 meals a week, whichhhhhh means I will be needing to cook a lot more. We’ll see how long this lasts…I love that your recipes are really accessible, fairly simple, pretty healthy and completely delicious! Keep it coming – I need all the cooking inspiration I can get before my inherent laziness and love of god-awful takeout wins over!

  43. Katie January 3, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    I’ll second everyone when I say congratulations. I love you two together. You just seem like you’re completely yourselves around each other, which, quite frankly, is a breath of fresh air. I have to thank you for the winter break I’ve had. My brother is six years older than me and he and his girlfriend are always cooking for the family and therefore pretty much walk on water in the eyes of my relatives. Meanwhile, I’m the second youngest in our entire extended family and I look totally worthless because of my lack of culinary skills. BUT I have finally contributed something by learning and making your chipotle marinade recipe, and it fucking rocks! Everyone is obsessed with it and I’m now the star of the kitchen. Thank you so much for making me finally seem useful other than for witty one-liners at the dinner table. A small victory in the war against my law school student brother. You got full credit for the recipe, by the way.

  44. FabMomofEKO January 3, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    Yes.. saying fiance is weird but he’s only your BLANK for a short time… so enjoy the word… because he’ll be your husband for a lifetime 🙂 Plus, its new… by next month it’ll feel more normal. With that said.. I love your style, love the blog… and as a wife and new mother I’ve used many of the recipes that you post. Don’t stop and congrats.

  45. caffeinejankie January 3, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    Felicitations to you and John. Well i was totally excited about my 4 day break that i forgot my best friend from college was coming in town until she called me and asked me if i was at the airport =(…. but i ended up having a blast, that im still recovering from AT WORK.

    Ps. you make my 8-5 desk job wayyyy smoooother by POSTING (hint) your adventures.. blah blah blah

    #okbye

  46. Rachel January 3, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    I’m not big on making resolutions, but something I’d like to do more of this year is what I call “ambitous” cooking. If I feel overwhelmed by a recipe, I’ll skip it, no matter how good it sounds. To push me in the right direction, I got the Momofuku cookbook for Christmas (wouldn’t have known about it without your blog). I made your chipotle chicken for the family over the holidays. I wanted to give you credit so after dinner I walked into the living room, went to the stack of Sports Illustrated swimsuit issues, and showed them your photo from last year (yes, we keep back issues of the swimsuit edition in our living room haha). Congratulations to you and John, I felt genuinely happy for you both when I heard you got engaged. And then I felt creepy for caring about strangers so much. But mostly happy haha. Your ring is perfect btw. He did good!

  47. Tanuja January 3, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    I ate lots of spicy, salty pork fat during the hols, so I had a good time! I love you!

  48. Jenn January 3, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    Chrissy, you and your blog are wonderful. Thank you for adding entertainment to my work day, and also for being honest, open, hilarious and real in your blog and tweets. It’s so easy to see models and celebrities as one dimensional people who don’t have normal stresses, and knowing that you stress about life, your job, your diet, etc really adds some perspective. You’re so much more than just a bikini model. As us magazine would say, “stars, they’re just like us.”. John Legend is a lucky man

  49. Vicky January 4, 2012 at 12:20 am #

    Hi! I love your blog, your humor and your amazing cooking skills. Let me start off by saying I was really excited to hear about your engagement, My husband and I love his music and it has helped us throughout our entire relationship/ marriage. Our favorite song, out of the many, is “I Love, You Love” for many reasons. I also give his music credit for bringing our son into this world, many fights and make ups, ok TMI I’m sure. Well I love love love love love your chipotle chicken and pork belly wraps. I really do see you in a cooking show, I saw Paula Deen once and she had a SI model cooking with her and I got my hopes up thinking it was you but Paula needs to highly consider it. I think your super talented and I look forward to your blog posts. About resolutions I don’t make any but I just started to erase some negative people who were bad for my soul and put more energy and focus on my family and myself. I so have a goal to complete a marathon by the end of the year. May you continue to be blessed. Have a great 2012

  50. Sarahsunshyne January 4, 2012 at 12:30 am #

    As with everyone else….Congratulations. And what an incredible trip you had!
    This year my new years resolution is a little different. I want to give Birth to my baby. Ok before you go to far down the path of crazy lady, I’ll explain. My sweet little boy is due in March. I’m not exactly fond of the birthing process specifically pain so I’ve decieded that I’m not going to actually give Birth. He will just be my little buddy in my pouch. Evidently this is frowned upon in the American culture. They tell me that I have to actually give Birth and bring this child into the world….so I must wrap my head around that hence the New Year resolution.
    Anyways love your blog and Twitter-isn’t it amazing that without even realizing it you can make so many of us laugh and bring happiness when perhaps we are having bad days?! Keep it up you are making a difference in this world and I for one appreciate you!
    Happy New Year

  51. yumgurl January 4, 2012 at 1:13 am #

    I just have to thank you for bringing pork belly into my life

  52. cwebbie January 4, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    I cooked so many of your recipes over the holidays – apple dumplings, boursin & bacon stuffed chicken (OMG!), the egg ham cuppy thingees and tried cajun catfish for breakfast! Thanks for all of the culinary amazingness you’ve bought into my life!

    This post could totally be on that “Just Like Us” section of US Weekly. Supermodel title aside, grammy winning fiancee (such a weird word) aside, it’s seems we all have the same desires – to live a happier life and make the most of what opportunities come our way. I have no doubt you will conquer anything you attempt. If there’s room for Nadia G’s Bitchin Kitchen, there’s room for you because that show is effin terrible. You’re funny and you’re likeable. And I don’t like people. At all anymore actually. It’s getting pretty bad…

    Best of luck!

  53. RKan January 5, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    “Maybe the dingo ate your baby” is from a movie called “A Cry in the Dark” starring Meryl Streep.

    Just wanted to shed some light on the randomness.

  54. Camilla January 5, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    so could use a perfect vacay like you just had.

    my resolutions?

    start writing cookbook slowly (because, well, why not? I may as well get started)
    make time for yoga/exercise
    show people that i love them (esp my new hot husband – we got married 2 weeks ago, huzzah!)
    take all my creative projects and dreams more seriously (i.e. have them start making money)
    grow my blog
    figure out exactly what the heck i want to do/be

  55. alexis January 5, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    yaya!!! finally! I’m so happy you guys are engaged 🙂 Your my favorite model regardless of how much or little work you do, your the most down to earth and I really appreciate that<3

  56. Christina January 5, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

    Congrats on the engagement! That ring in unreal. =) My xmas break was a total bust. BF was in Germany and missed his flight annnnd couldnt reschedule it until dec 25th. Sad. Were also supposed to go to Wyoming to visit my family, but the roads were to icky to attempt the 17 hour drive. So my sister, cousin and I stayed home and made fried chicken and fixins, and drank heavily. Pretty much a bummer but could always be worse! The 27th was the anniversary of my Mothers death in 2008 and sister and I wanted to spend it with our brother and dad, so that was upsetting. Not my favorite time of the year, we (sister and I) are pretty much grinchy mc-scrooges haaha. Can’t wait for your new recipes and fun posts! Maybe you could add in some cliche bridal posts? Loove that stuff, and would love to see your take on everything wedding because I am sure it would fun and out of the ordinary and hilarious. Don’t feel presssured too though, I know it is personal, just an idea!

  57. Denise Miller (@IrieDame) January 6, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    I am late here but hectic week. Of course I am happy for you. I wanted to share this with you. I have given up on resolutions and replaced it with an OLW which is one little word. You choose a word that becomes your guide for the year and every time u make a major decision you bounce it against that word. Don’t force the word, let it come to you. Balance chose me ths year and I will apply it to all areas of my life!

    Congrats again and I know 2012 will be a great year for u!

  58. Ashley-Bo January 7, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    Congrats on your engagement!! Love your blog, the recipes are amazing. Happy New Year!

  59. Nancy January 8, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Chrissy, I’ve been mulling over what to say in this comments section for some time now. Trying SO hard to think of something to say that would 1)illicit a commit from you, but more importantly 2) convey to you how much I relate to your struggle. So, ill tell you story. When i was a senior in undergrad, I was in lecture and the professor announced we would be having a guest lecturer for the day as opposed to hi regular lecture. Naturally, upon hearing this, I began to settle in for a good nap. Then, this man who looked older than dirt, walked up to the podium and said (in a grumpy, yet sincere old person tone) “Today, I’m going to talk about the frustration of dreams.” And there I was, barely 21 still
    milk on my tongue, hanging on to his every word as if it were gospel and wanting to
    combust because he was wording the anxiety I was feeling with my impending graduation. I’ve never forgotten his words, I’ve never forgotten that professor, that class not even the damn weather that afternoon. So, his gist was “you’ll never regret following your dreams no matter how frustrating, how stupid they make you look and feel. They’re all that will matter one day”

    So there you have it; long winded I know, but I hope it helped

    P.s
    Whenever you come across a nasty comments page, just come back here and read every lovely word these fine people left you; we are all willing you to reach your potential with our words

    • Sarahsunshyne January 8, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

      Love this!

  60. Melissa J January 8, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    Congratulations on your engagement, Chrissy and John!! You two are absolutely adorable together and I wish you nothing but the best. It looks like you have a busy, busy year ahead of you, which is fantastic. I hope you don’t forget about your blog or us little people who obsess over it! 🙂

  61. hoyachickbk January 9, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    I love that Seinfeld episode! The one where they are stranded in Long Island lol I just watched it today, that’s my favorite line too. I think you are gorgeous and John’s 1st album is one of the only CDs I own (read: actually paid for 🙂 so you guys are totally cool in my book, congratulation on the engagement! Love how real, witty and down to earth you are. I stumbled across your blog after reading a few of your tweets and now I’m hooked! I love to cook and am a home body so I am always looking for new things to make and your blog is great, so self deprecating and down to earth. This year I am starting my Master’s program and I am really nervous about that so I resolve to try my hardest and keep my head in the game. I’d also love to do some more traveling, after a horrible break up early last year I am looking forward to taking my first vacation as a singleton. I look forward to life and love and not being such a recluse.

    xoxoxo

  62. dejana February 9, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    Hey crissy I never got the dingo either then one day I think on Oprah they were talking about Australia and I guess back when sienfield was filmed this woman had her baby stolen by a dingo and it has always remained the dingo got her baby

Leave a Reply

