cookbook cookin’

3 Jan

My apartment is just filled with cookbooks. They’re all over my kitchen counter, with kitchen aids and wine openers as the only things stopping them from toppling over. They’re also just in random stacks throughout the house, hoping to pass for some sort of organized decoration. Friends have given me countless books, and I LOVE them. I think I found myself with over 30 from my birthday party alone (along with a few kevlar no-cut gloves from the mandolin incident), and John got me an amazing, random collection of the year’s best-sellers for Christmas. Ohhhhhh, how I love opening up a cookbook. I’ve stopped buying cooking magazines because I can’t bring myself to throw them away and a little nyc apartment can’t afford to have piles of crinkly, year-old magazines laying around.

I always talk about having an enormous bookshelf in my future-kitchen (not possible in this apartment) just full of colorful, wonderful cookbooks. All messily flagged with post its and my own notes. I mean, online recipes are nice and sooooo easy to find and organize, but there is just something about a cookbook…COOKBOOK, COOKBOOK, COOKBOOK!

The point is, I have a rather….uneventful….week. It is my goal to cook one recipe from every. single. one. of my “received in 2011” cookbooks. I will go through one each morning and pick a nice little recipe we all can try, post it, CITE IT, and hopefully you all will be so motivated by the recipe that you’ll buy the book and no one sues me for my little lowly, no-profit blog posting their recipe. Ya hear that? Lowly, no-profit, blog….

We’ll see how long this lasts. First one starts tonight!

xx

25 Responses to “cookbook cookin’”

  1. Ashley January 3, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    YOU should have your own cookbook missy :o). I just made your stuffed boursin chicken last night OMG, amazing!!!! Congrats on your engagement as well !

  2. April Larabee January 3, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    I like it, since I’ve made the resolution to cook more from scratch. I’ll pick one of your recipes, make it, take a picture of it and hopefully figure out how to post it!

    • April Larabee January 3, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      I mean I’ll take one of the recipes you post from one of your CITED cookbooks!

  3. Sarah January 3, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    Yay! Hope you find a few good appetizers
    that are kinda healthy for the Super Bowl:)

  4. Lorna January 3, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    I’m closing in on 1,700 cookbooks, yet I see a couple in your pile that I don’t have – must change that immediately! Looking forward to your cooking project…

  5. Emily @ Mouth of the Border January 3, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    You have HAVE to make the coffee chipotle brisket or the spinach & mushroom enchiladas from the Homesick Texan book. I told Lisa (the author) that hers is the first cookbook I’ve loved cover to cover in forever…and that I’d start giving it to newlywed friends as a gift going forward. It’s that awesome.

  6. Karina January 3, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    On behalf of all of your followers/ readers, I BEG, PLEAD, AND KINDLY (desperately) REQUEST you start with the book that is simply titled “Bacon” in your picture. I mean, who are we kidding, right??

    • chrissyteigen January 3, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

      aw man I got excited for Texas one! I’ll use bacon closer to the Super Bowl…it just seems like a good fit, lots of snacks and apps!

  7. Bowie January 3, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    You should get Thomas Kellers if you don’t have em already 🙂

    • xoxome11 January 3, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

      YES! ad hoc proudly sits on my coffee table — it’s gorgeous and full of amazing deliciousness! Plus he shares some really basic kitchen/chef knowledge…

  8. sweetnv January 3, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    I love cookbooks…..love love love ’em!! ….and great idea to try a new CITED recipe from each of these books each day.

    To you, what makes a good cookbook?

    For me, any good cookbook has to have pictures. (I promise I’ve graduated from reading picture books!)….the recipes are important, sure, but what better marketing for a recipe is there than a picture of some luscious piece of food that makes your heart fall into your stomach.

  9. Fay January 3, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    Cant wait for the wifey-to-be inspired recipes 🙂

  10. Zeina January 3, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    The birthday Cake in momofoku milk bar will make you want to gauge your eyes out it’s so good. I can’t wait to try it from the actual restaurant itself! The h

  11. Zeina January 3, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Also, look into “the art of living according to Joe beef”, in my opinion, one of the best restaurants in Montreal, lovely book.

  12. jen January 3, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    Hey girl, love your blog and love this idea! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

    -fellow bacon and cookbook lover

  13. Kat January 3, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    I just set a similar challenge for myself on my blog! Although, admittedly, on a much smaller scale. I received two cookbooks for Christmas, one by Nigella Lawson and another by Ina Garten (two women who I would love to be adopted by and call “mommy” even for a day, no offense to my actual mom). My “challenge” is to cook one dish from either cookbook every month.

    Anyway. Because of those two cookbooks I am now officially obsessed with cookbooks and can’t go to a bookstore without going to the cookbook section. I saw the Momofuku last week but it was reserved for someone else but stopped myself. I want to get through the ones I have first.

  14. casallina January 3, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    One of my goals this year is to learn new recipes so I want to stock up on some cookbooks. Any good recommendations for vegetarian books? Loving your blog Chrissy and congrats!

  15. shellbell January 3, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    Ok I know you’re on a cookbook kick but sweet baby jesus i just made these and they are to dieeeeeeee for. Her website has a bunch of different kinds but who doesn’t love bacon??

    http://laylita.com/recipes/2008/06/02/leek-empanadas/

    Here’s the dough (I used a lot more water): http://laylita.com/recipes/2008/02/06/how-to-make-empanada-dough/

    And the sauce she talks about making is amazing with it too.

    Congrats on the engagement!

  16. Leslie January 4, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    I feel the exact same way! I graduated from the FCI in 2008 and haven’t done much with the degree since. I want to cook and write and travel and learn, but can’t seem to get focused!! Ugggh

  17. Chaunte January 4, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    I think you should continue to do what you do best. Your personality is what sets you apart from all the people you just named. You’re young and you inspire young people to try new things in the kitchen and beyond. I tried one of the recipes you posted for my first Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! I could def see you having a show where you travel and try foods of the world and are brutally honest about the experience. Or continuing to blog but on a bigger scale. Or something like that. Your young and blessed, the world is at your feet right now…Anyhow, what I really wanted to say was that this reminded me of you http://threemanycooks.com/recipes/nibbles-and-apps/spicy-deviled-eggs-with-prosciutto-crisps/
    Good luck with all of your future endeavors, you’ll be great at whatever it is as long as you follow your passion.

  18. JC January 9, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Have you had the chance to read: Modernist Cuisine: The Art and Science of Cooking (5 Volume Set) by Nathan Myhrvold. He is literally a genius and was also on Top Chef last week. Fancy techniques and very expensive for a cookbook.

    Available here:http://www.amazon.com/Modernist-Cuisine-Art-Science-Cooking/dp/0982761007/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1326145646&sr=8-1

  19. ann. February 6, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    That “Thai Food” book by David Thompson is absolutely amazing! It’s a great foundation for thai cooking.. One of the most opened book in my cookbook collection! Love love love your blog! 🙂

  20. Nona March 1, 2014 at 7:29 am #

    If you have not already done this, you should sign up with Eat your booksdotcom so you can easily find recipes to cook from books, mags and blogs. I have lots, lots, and lots of English language and Japanese language cookbooks and was finding I did not utilize the books enough. But now with the index system of Eat Your books, I find my recipes quickly.

Leave a Reply

