Barefoot Contessa

8 Oct

I am definitely not ashamed to say that I lovvvvve incorporating boxed mixes into my kitchen life.

There is nothing better to me than waking up early (kinda) on a Sunday morning and taking 15 minutes of my life to throw together and mix up some muffins or a coffee cake to fill the house with a skeet worthy aroma.

I don’t even drink coffee. Not for health reasons, it just does nothing for me but upset my belly. But I DO do cake and muffins and I have I never, ever found a mix collection quite like Ina Garten’s.

They aren’t easy to come by…I get mine at Sur La Table and buy about 15 at a time just to fill my pantry up with. But I beg of you…please go on amazon.com and buy a collection immediately. They are to die for. Toss the box and lie. Really. Lie your ass off. Because no one will believe that your cakes, cupcakes, or cookies weren’t completely homemade. After a while, you’ll even believe the lie. And that’s the point where I am now.

I haven’t done a sweets post in a while so I just thought I’d tease you with this one, where I made a chocolate swirl coffee cake, care of the Barefoot Contessa, Ina, herself.

If you order some, pleasssse make sure you get the outrageous brownie mix, red velvet cupcake mix, pancake mix, blondies mix, chocolate cupcake with chocolate frosting mix (one of my top choices), and sour cream coffee cake mix. Basically ummmm ALL OF THEM.

Get them HERE!

 

7 Responses to “Barefoot Contessa”

  1. twheetybird October 8, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    I do not bake. For me it takes too long and I am a taster… And at last someone who understands that “coffee does nothing for me”…

    And as always, thank you for sharing…

    😉

    oxo

  2. Krystle October 8, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    Thanks will do! Love her so much!

  3. Michael Famico October 8, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    Sweet blog entry, Chrissy. Now knowing you are “down with mixes”, thought I’d help you with some tried and true mixes I use (and LOVE). They are from King Arthur Flour in Vermont. First off, their recipes are amazing, their product is superior, and their mail order/customer service is unmatched. I don’t work for them; though my monthly orders put a couple bucks in their employees baker’s aprons fo sho!

    Here’s the link: http://www.kingarthurflour.com/shop/mixes

    Anyhoo, love the posts and Pipa; just thought I’d throw both a bone. #ThatsNOTWhatSheSaid

  4. Britt October 9, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    “skeet worthy aroma”….LOVE IT

    • Jesse October 9, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

      I loved that as well. I’m pretty sure Ina Garten used that term to describe Jeffrey’s musk.

  5. Landoflala October 10, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    The food looks amazing, I can’t wait to try to make it.

  6. Julie October 11, 2011 at 12:21 am #

    Chrissy–good call. The Barefoot Contessa Outrageous Brownie mix is INSANE. Try it now, thank me later.

Leave a Reply

