PEACH SEASON!

10 Jul

Here’s another traumatizing experience for you…Whereas the last one came in the form of toffee, I have another one I can’t help but think about every time I think of peaches…

I picked up a peach from Albertsons when I was about 15 or or so, and as I walked through the store, I, for some reason, rubbed it against my cheek. It was so soft and velvety and I was apparently on ecstasy or something…I mean, who else would do that? Anyhow I went home and saw that my cheeks had about 500 tinnnnny little red bumps and a little piece of peach fuzz was sticking out of each bump. Turns out those little hairs are so fine that they can actually be sharp on something as delicate as, I dunno, YOUR FACE.

So yeah. I’m pretty positive you don’t need to be told this in the first place but….don’t rub peaches on your face.

With that, here’s some peachy recipes from yumsugar  ….. but I also stumbled across these peach wontons on foodgawker, and they look absolutely freaking delicious. It’s sunday….don’t they just seem like a tasty little sunday treat? I’m not home, but you can trust that I’ll be making them this week, along with sea salt chocolate chip cookies (you’ll hear more about those later!)

If this picture doesn’t make your peach juicy, then I dunno what will:

(photo from Amy at shewearsmanyhats.com)…more delicious photos and recipe here!:

http://shewearsmanyhats.com/2011/07/peach-wontons/

10 Responses to “PEACH SEASON!”

  1. Joseph (Jeff) July 10, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    peach fuzz did WHAT?! I can’t remember the last time I peeled a peach before I ate it. why aren’t I dead? or…am I dead? Oh God

  2. Emily July 10, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Yum those look amazing. Thanks for the tip about peaches on your face. Weird how they say “peaches and cream” complexion, right? Knowing what I know now, I think maybe those people are monsters.

  3. Butters Stotch July 10, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    Just spent the last hour drooling over the pics on foodgawker, never saw that site before – thanks! But I wish foodgawker would require author pictures to be submitted along with the recipes (i.e. if a skinny chick submitted some creamy chicken baked pasta recipe, i would feel less bad about making it)…I’m skeptical of all these decadent dishes. Faces! I need to see faces!

  4. Kelsey July 10, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    I never knew that about peach fuzz– thanks for the warning. I love peaches…. My favorite is peach frozen yogurt. I just blend up one and a half cups of peaches with a big container of vanilla yogurt (32 oz) and a quarter cup of honey. You can add more chopped peaches in after you blend, and then freeze it for 4 hours. You then break it into pieces and blend it again and then freeze another six hours. I know it sounds like a bitch to make but it’s so good! I got it from the sleep doctors diet plan if anyone is interested!

    Thanks for the wonton recipe Chrissy; it looks amazing!

  5. Sedalle July 11, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    You get a lot of food-related injuries, don’t you? We always hurt the ones we love, I guess.

  6. troy July 24, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    You have no idea how good a peach can be until you come palisade colorado and eat these bad boys

  7. Daniela July 28, 2011 at 4:07 am #

    You are so funny and honest and just plain COOL! LOVE THIS BLOG and how you write it!

  8. Dionna August 14, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    Ooooo, the peach wontons sound like they’re missing ONE INGREDIENT…..cream cheese!!!! I think that would be ridiculous mixed in with the peaches……must make these tomorrow…..

  9. zach eickburg June 9, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

    my own experience brought me to your blog looking for a remedy! sadly, I pressed peaches onto my eyes to mimick a “fruit fly”….ouch! the night ended with lots of tears and tape to remove the peach fuzz 🙂

Leave a Reply

