Corn / I hate titles.

8 Jul

I find that making a title for each blog post is the most difficult thing about the very simple thing that is “blogging”.

For instance, this post’s general theme is corn but if I label it “Corn” it sounds like a chapter in a handwritten Amish handbook. Just know that this is something I’m working on, and for now, deal with my shitty titles please!

Anyhow, CORN! I love corn. Do you love corn? Corn corn corn. Anytime I’ve ever made a dish with corn, I end up ruining the recipe by eating it straight out of the can. YES, I use canned corn sometimes…most of the time….ok all the time. Who wants to boil and mess with fresh corn? I don’t have that kind of time! No actually yeah we all know I do have that kind of time but hey…I’ve found canned, whole kernels of corn to be just as delicious as the real thing.

For lunch yesterday, I ordered from Delicatessen in Soho, and if you haven’t been to this place, let me tell you — you are really missing out on being treated like a lesser person if you aren’t a stunning celebrity or something. Anyhow, it’s good…but I don’t really want to beg my server to do their job ever, ya know?

If you do go, and I’m sure I’ve just completely sold you on it huh, get the truffle creamed corn. It’s so delicious that you can actually feel your arteries clogging and hear the gentle sounds cellulite forming on the back of your thighs.

YumSugar.com just did a nice little corn recipe roundup as well…check check check it out:

http://www.yumsugar.com/Corn-Recipes-Summer-Dining-9095676

Ps, did you enjoy my chosen corn photo? I’ve done a few (and by a few i mean too many to count) embarrassing modeling jobs in my day but I never had the pleasure of doing a halloween costume photo shoot. And I swear to you, as I type this…I’m vaguely remembering that…I did. Oh dear. So many repressed memories .

*10 points if you read “titles” as titties. I know I did, and I’m the one that wrote it.

14 Responses to “Corn / I hate titles.”

  1. maisha July 8, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    10 points for me!

  2. mandaP24 July 8, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    I was REALLY hoping you were going to point out that photo…

    I read the post, quickly glanced over the picture (with no thoughts going through my head…as usual), scrolled up only to realize WHAT THE FUCK THAT PICTURE ACTUALLY WAS, and bout died.

    Your blog-writing skills are UNreal…I got a little poopy in my pants when you tweeted that you went ape-shit on here today.

  3. Alfine July 8, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Lmao.

    You’re great, Chrissy.

  4. Denise Miller July 8, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    First wish me happy birthday as I anm reading your blog as.I am on holiday in the Cayman Islands and enjoying my birthday. I am Jamaican and we make this sweet corn thing with canned cream of corn and condensed mild. When it is chiulled it is sickenly great. Keep blogging Chrissy. Love your candor!

  5. melissamooney July 8, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    I’m no sort of model but oh as a child I participated in a few Halloween costume “fashion” shows….My best friend’s mom was the manager at the store so she got to be Little Boo Peep while I was the sheep. She was Cinderella and I was the pumpkin. She was Little Miss Muffet and I was the freaking spider. Why did I agree to this? I was not a fat kid- I think obviously, considering the evidence, her mom did not like me. Or maybe that chick was not my best friend…. Anyway, I feel for Corn Girl. Granted, she probably got paid and I did not.

  6. sami July 9, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Ah haaaa! I read titties and thought, god I’m immature, so good to know I wasn’t the only one!

  7. theworldoftiffany July 9, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Corn is yummy yellow goodness.

  8. ButtcheeksBrown July 9, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Nothing wrong with corn titties

  9. candice July 9, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    i, too, love corn…in all its forms. at the moment, my favorite way to cook it is to just put it directly onto the oven rack (husk and all) and roast. holds all the flavor in. so sweeeeet. i also hate dealing with all the boiling business.

    if you haven’t tried it already, DO IT!

  10. Jonathan July 9, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Love corn! Canned is okay but when it’s in season my favorite way to cook it is to grill it! Soak the ears in water for about 30 minutes, peal back the husks a little and tuck in 3-4 sprigs of Rosemary. Put the husk back in place and throw on the grill for about 10-15 minutes. Delushious!

  11. Karen July 13, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    Mmmmm, canned corn is so good right? I can never eat it though because for some reason my husband prefers frozen corn. Rather than submit to his demands for frozen corn I simply do not buy corn unless it is fresh and on the cob. Passive aggressive? Yes. But is it the right thing to do? I believe so.

  12. abbey July 28, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Tagliatelle-with-Fresh-Corn-Pesto-360209

    you’re bossy and i like it but now i am going to tell you something you have to do. MAKE this pasta. if you don’t you are dumb. it is the most AMAZING thing ever. the prep sucks but it is entirely worth it in the end. there is corn and bacon and pasta. i promise you i wouldn’t lie to you, i mean i feel like we are friends. friends don’t let friends make bad food or wear tube tops but that is for another day.

    also go here: http://www.hotwsweeteats.com- she has amazing recipes and is funny! i mean the brown butter peach crumble bar recipe?! i dieeee!

  13. Ilynn Atkinson October 31, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    I like corn bread. Particularly arepas. Not much good for removing cellulite though! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

